Main Menu

Log In


In This Section

Distinguished Alumni

Established in 1987, the Park Tudor Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes alumni who have made substantial contributions to a field of endeavor, their community, and/or the school.

Nominate an Alum for the Distinguished Alumni Award

2018 Distinguished Alumni

Irene "Renie" Lilly McCutchen '58

Renie Lilly McCutchen '58

Please join the Park Tudor Alumni Association and Park Tudor School in honoring Irene "Renie" Lilly McCutchen '58 for her substantial contributions to philanthropy, volunteerism and service.

Who gives to whom? In all the organizations with which we are associated, we see that through generosity and the motivation to share gifts and talents, each individual offers unique gifts to the whole; each one brings inspiration and unexpected benefits to all who are involved. Everyone benefits and the world is made a better place."-Irene Lilly McCutchen

Irene “Renie” Lilly McCutchen, Tudor Hall Class of 1958, is the oldest of 10 children. During her youth, she lived in Indianapolis with her mother, Jean, and her stepfather, Benjamin W. Rubush. During the summer, she lived with her father, Josiah K. Lilly III, and her stepmother, Josephine.

Renie feels the legacy she received through her family has been amplified by the education she received. The teachers at Tudor Hall encouraged her to work diligently and were examples of giving their lives for the benefit of others. Caring teachers helped her gain the confidence to explore ideas and to be attentive to the issues that affect people. Renie loves her Tudor friends and is glad for the experiences she shared with them. She feels that they, too, have inspired her with the rich generosity and beauty of their accomplishments.

Renie attended Duke University and received a Bachelor of Arts Degree in 1962. There she met her future husband, William W. McCutchen, Jr., who earned a bachelor’s degree in engineering from Duke that same year.

Renie has enjoyed a long association with Duke through serving on the Alumni Advisory Council, the Library Advisory Board and the Board of Visitors of the Duke Divinity School and its Center for Reconciliation (CFR). In 2014, the couple endowed the Irene and William McCutchen Professorship to be held by the director of the CFR. The professorship provides financial stability and a foundation for future growth of the CFR to support faith leaders who work toward reconciliation in the United States and abroad. In 2014, the couple was awarded the Charles A. Dukes Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service from the Duke Alumni Association.

Renie and Bill also have great appreciation for Indiana University; Bill studied for his Ph.D. at the Kelley School of Business and the couple supports the Diversity Merit Scholarship Endowment at the Kelley School.

To help develop the talents of those who are called to serve, Renie, her family and the Ruth Lilly Philanthropic Foundation established the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy in 2013. It is the world’s first school dedicated solely to the study and teaching of philanthropy. Renie serves as a member of its Board of Visitors and was appointed a Lifetime Member of the Board of Directors.

Bill and Renie also support Christian ministries, human services organizations, animal welfare, environmental organizations, and educational and arts institutions in Indiana and in the New York and Connecticut areas, as well as globally, as service calls to them.

A primary interest of the McCutchens in recent years has been to provide support to the Indian Gospel Mission (IGM) through the establishment of The India Collective, a nonprofit organization that supports IGM to benefit vulnerable children and youth in India. Children in need receive medical treatment, food, housing, access to education, and experiences in arts and sports activities. In addition, IGM offers tailoring classes to women who are trapped in the sex traffic trade; it provides carpentry training for young men, and training and materials for girls to make and sell batik cloth items, greeting cards and jewelry.

Renie credits her parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles with providing positive influences of generosity and compassion. Each person in the generations preceding hers offered opportunities for people to live productive and healthy lives and contributed to making the world a better place. Renie’s husband Bill has been a great partner in sharing ministries of love and compassion. Renie and Bill have one son who lives in California with his family.

Do you know Park Tudor, Tudor Hall or Park School alumni who are candidates for the annual Distinguished Alumni Award? Please submit a nomination form or contact Kelly Teller at

The National Bank of Indianapolis is a proud sponsor of the Distinguished Alumni Awards Dinner.

The National Bank of Indianapolis

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2018Irene "Renie" Lilly McCutchen '58
2017Marya Jones '78
Sam Jones '79
Michael Jones '82 (posthumously)
2016Susan Batchelder Plimpton '61
2015Ed Harris '60
2014Neil Funk '64
2013Kay Ryan Booth '68
2012Hurst Groves '59
2011Emily Moore Sturman '66
Jim Sturman '67
2010Frank Watanabe '85
Elizabeth Wiest Johnson '46
Alan Keller '60
2009Rob Brown '79
LeAnne Smith Hardy '69
John Krauss '67
2008Dr. Allison Brashear '79
The Colwell Brothers - Steve '51, Paul '53 and Ralph '55
Dr. Anne Pelizzoni Lanier '58
2007John Atcheson '77
Billy Baker '74*
Susie Mayberry Mead '65
John Neighbours '67
2006Barbara Kroeger Gamble '36*
Thomas (Tom) Osborne '96
Richard (Dick) West '42
2005Dr. Charles Black '87
Katharine Mothershead Kruse '65
Gordon Wishard '62
2004William Snyder Hall '29*
Sally Reahard '26*
Megan Crowell Rhodehamel '79
William A. Rhodehamel '79
2003Dob Bennett '76
Deborah Stuart Everett '69
Charles E. Test '33*
2002Kathryn Bard '64
Joel C. Boaz '74
Frederick D. Leete III ’45*
2001Garvin Eddy '68
Andrea Neal '76
Susan McVie Tolbert '68
2000Ellen Wardwell Lee '67
Louis E. Randle '50*
Lori Stephens Bonner '90
1999Sherry Mills Rodgers '74
Norbert Schaefer Jr. '48*
Dr. Marianne Williams Tobias '58
1998Steve S. Cagle '71
Alex S. Carroll '35
Myrta Pulliam '65
1997The Rogers’ Family:
Alex L. Rogers ’61
Anne L. Rogers ’85
Baxter S. Rogers ’59*
Carol Cummings Rogers ’59
J.B. Rogers ’82
Mary Holliday Rogers ’65
Randall Rogers ’64
Torrence Rogers ’56
1996Joseph M. Bloch Jr. '34*
Cathy Wood Lawson '72
Ruth Lilly '33*
1995Cathy Lasky Knight '62
Bernard Vonnegut '32*
The Class of 1971
1994Paul H. Buchanan Jr. '35*
Lucina Ball Moxley '36
Citation of Special Merit: Marge Kroeger '44*
1993Allen W. Clowes '35*
Linda Hamilton McLaughlin '43*
Citation of Special Merit: H. Roll McLaughlin
1992Sarah Margaret Moore Hodges '28*
1991Thomas W. Binford '41*
1987Margaret E. Hillis '40*